Posting in Installments vs. Single Chapters

I just finished a new story that’s a bit long for me (5500 words), and I’m trying to decide whether to post all of it at once, or whether I should stretch it out in 2 or 3 installments delivered over the course of a week. I usually do the latter, but this story is a slow build.

As an author, I usually prefer posting in installments because I tend to get more feedback that way. But I know that some readers prefer longer, complete works. What are your thoughts?

I enjoy it when there is a build up from when the first installment is posted and then there is anticipation till the next one. Many times after I have read the entire story, I will then return and reread it from start to finish. So either way is good, but in installments it gives the author a chance to perhaps tweak where the story is going.

1 Like

i love episodic thrills!
cody

I generally don’t like installments because, for my taste, the installments are nearly always too brief. The wait until the next installment can be too long in a way that sometimes frustrates my interest in the story. (If you’ve read my previous posts, you’ll know I’m strongly against posting installments as an excuse for not having completed the story.) It’s like commercial interruptions on television (I never watch network tv anymore). If you’ve ever read Hugo’s Les Misérables, you’ll know that many of his chapters are very brief. In his case it works because he nearly always ends each chapter with an explicit cliffhanger, and the complexity of his narrative leaves one with lots of feelings and questions that can’t be dissipated if one puts the book down.

Rubbrsome has it right: when he posts in installments, he never waits more than 24 hours before posting the next installment. That’s because he’s conceived & written the entire story beforehand, and because with nearly all of his stories, it’s hard not to get emotionally invested in his characters.