Need feedback? Inquire within

I’ve been reading through posts on the forum about giving and receiving feedback regarding stories. One of the biggest issues I’ve run into as an author myself is taking criticism to heart - we write these stories for free, and opinions shared in a public forum have the added sting of public shame.

Thought about it for a bit, and thought I’d make an offer to all authors, be they new, aspiring, or veteran - if you have a story, and want feedback about it privately before you post it on the site, I’d be happy to give it a read through.

At this point in time I’m willing to do this for free, on the condition that the story be posted for free as well. If there’s a disproportionate demand I may reconsider this, but that’s unlikely. Given I’m Australian and locked down until November I have quite a bit of time on my hands at present.

I know very well that even a small amount of critique can be daunting, so I’ll leave it up to you how much of it you want me to provide. This can be anything ranging from a simple spelling and grammar check all the way up to detailed analysis of your plot, character development, and style.

If you’re interested, shoot me a PM. Cheers.

5 Likes

Do you also offer post-publish criticism? :upside_down_face:

Yeah absolutely. Just don’t want to barge into someone’s comments with unwanted critique :stuck_out_tongue:

If you happen to read my latest story (The Rainbow Zone: Mirror Mirror), I’d love any feedback you have to give on the Australian slang I used. I’m a Canadian, and there’s some overlap, but there’s also the possibility that I’ve wildly misused it.

(It’s 10k+ words, so please don’t feel obligated to read it if you weren’t planning to.)

I very much enjoyed the story! Given it’s a bit lengthy I ended up shooting you my suggestions as a PM rather than post them in a reply.

1 Like

Thank you! I’ll be making a few edits!