To my fellow authors; how dependent are you on interaction/feedback to continue writing stories?

As someone who has written a few stories here, I love seeing comments and feedback on my stuff, and it honestly keeps me going. I was curious about how dependent others were on this stuff! I’m not sure how motivated I would be to keep writing stories if it was crickets. I like to know that other people find my stories just as hot as I find them.

Is this a normal occurrence, or do you guys write stories no matter if they get comments or not?

5 Likes

Sounds perfectly normal to me. I’m pretty new to submitting stories here, but the reader engagement is a key motivator to keep trying. I decided to start writing for myself, as a creative outlet, but finding out that other people enjoyed my stuff got me to continue.

I’ve been going through a dry spell where all my ideas seem like bad ones, and I haven’t wanted to publish anything I’ve been working on, mainly because I want to get that positive feedback and know that others are having a good time with my work. I’m hopeful that I may currently be breaking out of that dry spell.

I kinda wish this man could be an island and not care what others think, but that’s not the way I’m wired. Sure, not every story will push the right buttons for every reader, but hearing that some people enjoy it is very influential. I think I can deal with criticism if it comes my way, but a complete absence of positive feedback would be very demotivating. I continue to try to write because I want others to get a thrill from my stories the way I always have from the stories I’ve read here.

3 Likes

I have a 50/50 relationship with this and it can be a struggle.